lady_1
lady_2
questions_img

Talk to a Counselor Today FREE Consultation - Call Us Today

1-877-480-TALK

Jacob and Elizabeth | ID# 17001
contact_icon

Dear Expectant Mother,

We cannot even begin to fathom how you must be feeling throughout your journey to placing your child for adoption, but please know that we are ever grateful for the opportunity to be the family you choose to raise your child. We respect that this decision was not an easy one for you and our hope is that we can be the ones to ease your fear of if the family you picked is the right one for your child.

Our names are Libby and Jake and we live in Washington. After multiple miscarriages, lots of tears, and questions of what are we going to do, we opened up to family and friends about our recent loss. Through them we learned that two families went through the adoption process themselves and had only the most positive things to say about their experiences. It helped us see that we CAN have a family after all, and we immediately set out to start the process.

We didn’t meet in the most conventional way. Libby was living in North Carolina in 2010, teaching at one of the elementary schools at Camp Lejeune. She was helping a friend who was deployed by taking care of his truck and ended up on a truck forum (she drove a Mini Cooper at the time). Meanwhile, Jake was living in Washington and working as a mechanic. He frequented the same truck forum. We met in early 2011 while attending a forum get together in Alabama and hit it off immediately. Once Libby’s school year ended, she moved to Kansas to be closer to her cousins. Libby visited Jake a few times in Washington and Jake flew out to visit Libby in Kansas. In September Jake asked Libby if she would consider moving out to Washington with her Saint Bernard and Libby didn’t hesitate to say yes. It was the best move she has made to date. We added a German Shepherd to our family, bought a house, got married, and added a Shepherd/Husky mix to the group. Suffice it to say, we are ready to add a little human to our family.

Libby originally hails from South Florida. She comes from a loving home with two older brothers and lots of cousins. In college, she majored in Elementary Education and Deaf Education. After graduating in 2007 she moved to Southern California for year, where she worked in the probate bond industry. A year later she moved to North Carolina, where she could utilize her degree. She moved to Kansas for a few months before heading out to Washington, where she currently works in the aerospace industry. When Libby isn’t out doing search and rescue training, or helping on search and rescue missions, she enjoys a myriad of hobbies. She loves crafting the most, whether it is quilting, using her Silhouette cutting machine to create banners and scrapbook pages, or doing counted cross stitch projects. She also enjoys running and curling up with a good book and, until recently, her trusty Saint Bernard, Sassy (who unfortunately passed away on July 7, 2017).

Jake is born and bred in Washington. His family has remained local, spread out between Washington and Oregon. His parents live 30 minutes down the road and his identical twin brother lives 5 minutes down the road. He is a competent handyman of sorts and can fix most things around the household. He is currently a Utility Mechanic for the local power company and loves to work with the family dogs in his free time. He volunteers with the local search and rescue K9 team and helicopter rescue team. Aside from that, his hobbies include playing a round of golf and working on cars along with the occasional home improvement projects.

Together, Libby and Jake participate in their local volunteer search and rescue group, focusing their energies with the K9 team. Jake is currently certified with their German Shepherd, Clyde, and Libby is currently working towards certifying with their German Shepherd/Husky mix, Hannah. When we aren’t out in the field trying to find a lost or injured person we enjoy playing a round of golf together and traveling (mostly domestically, but we are looking forward to eventually traveling internationally). We enjoy celebrating holidays, both Jewish and Christian non-denominational, and incorporating family traditions while coming up with our own to add into the mix. We also enjoy hosting game nights and barbecues with their family and friends. We are looking forward sharing these traditions and adventures with your child one day.

With love,

Jake & Libby